Roundup

Best Portable Power Station for Apartment Power Outages

By Jeremy Kelly · Specs last checked November 7, 2026 · Research-based, not hands-on tested

A renter's guide to outage backup: closet-friendly sizes, carry weight, published noise claims, charging options, and a low-cost plan if you don't want to buy a big battery.

Apartment outages come with their own limits. You can’t wire in a transfer switch or run a gas generator on a balcony, and storage space is tight. You may also be carrying the battery up stairs, and in a studio its fan runs a few feet from where you sleep. This guide skips the “power your whole house” pitch and asks what actually fits a rental: something you can store, lift and live next to that covers the essentials.

As with all ReserveWatt guides, this is research-based. Specs and claims come from manufacturer pages, checked November 7, 2026. We haven’t measured noise or runtime ourselves, so any decibel figure below is the manufacturer’s claim.

First, decide what “essentials” means for you

Before choosing a battery, write a short list of what you want running and for how long. For most renters it looks something like this:

  1. Phones, so you can get alerts and reach family. Very small energy use.
  2. Wi-Fi router and modem, for work and news. Small, but they run around the clock.
  3. A few LED lights. Small.
  4. A laptop. Moderate.
  5. The refrigerator. The big one. It decides whether you need about 300Wh or about 1,000Wh.

If the fridge isn’t on your list, a compact station around 300Wh will probably do. If it is, look at a 1kWh-class unit and read our refrigerator backup guide for how to measure your fridge’s energy use.

Comparison table

Spec (manufacturer) EcoFlow RIVER 3 Anker SOLIX C300 DC Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2
Capacity 245Wh 288Wh 1,070Wh (Jackery FAQ)* 1,024Wh
AC outlets 2 (300W total; 600W X-Boost) None (DC/USB only) 3 (1,500W total) AC rated 2,000W total
Listed weight 7.8 lb 6.17 lb 23.8 lb 24.9 lb
Size (approx.) 10 × 8.3 × 4.4 in 4.9 × 4.7 × 7.9 in 12.9 × 8.8 × 9.7 in 15.1 × 8.2 × 9.6 in
Published noise claim <30 dB Not stated on US page Fan ≤22 dB Not stated on US page
Recharge from wall 0–100% in 60 min (EcoFlow claim) USB-C PD charger needed (none included) ~1.7 hr standard; faster app mode 1,200W standard; 1,600W app mode
Solar input 110W 100W (11–28V, XT60) 400W 600W
Chemistry LiFePO4 LiFePO4 LiFePO4 LiFePO4
Warranty 5 years 36 months 3 + 2 years (conditions) 5 years

*The Amazon listing we checked shows different figures. See our DELTA 3 Plus vs Explorer 1000 v2 comparison.

EcoFlow RIVER 3: the closet-friendly all-rounder

EcoFlow lists the RIVER 3 at 7.8 lb and 10 × 8.3 × 4.4 inches, small enough for a closet shelf and easy to carry with one hand. It holds 245Wh of LiFePO4 capacity (3,000 cycles to 80%, per EcoFlow) and has two AC outlets sharing 300W. EcoFlow’s “X-Boost” runs heating-type devices up to 600W. The other ports are one 100W USB-C, two 12W USB-A and a 12.6V/10A car outlet (126W max).

For apartments, two claims stand out: EcoFlow says it runs below 30 dB, and that it recharges 0–100% in about 60 minutes from the wall. EcoFlow lists a <20 ms switchover, so it can sit between the wall and your router and take over when the power drops. That’s slower than the sub-10 ms some larger units claim, which matters for desktops, and less for routers and laptops. EcoFlow’s US guides list a 5-year warranty.

Be clear about the limits. With 300W of AC, it’s for electronics and lights, not kitchen appliances. The 245Wh capacity won’t carry a full-size fridge. EcoFlow’s RIVER 3 series page describes extra-battery expansion for the RIVER 3 Plus, not this model. One EcoFlow blog post lists expansion for the RIVER 3 too, but we couldn’t confirm it on a product page, so don’t buy it counting on expansion.

Pros

  • Lightest AC unit here; easy to carry and store
  • Quiet operation and 1-hour recharge claimed
  • Automatic switchover for a router or laptop

Cons

  • 300W AC: too little for microwaves, kettles or space heaters
  • 245Wh won’t carry a full-size fridge
  • Expansion not confirmed on EcoFlow’s product pages

Check EcoFlow RIVER 3 on AmazonAffiliate link

Anker SOLIX C300 DC: the “big power bank” option

The C300 DC has no AC outlets at all. It’s a 288Wh LiFePO4 battery, about the size of a large water bottle (6.17 lb), with two 140W two-way USB-C ports, a 15W USB-C port, a 12W USB-A port and a car-style 12V outlet. It’s rated at 300W total.

That trade-off makes sense in an apartment. Phones, laptops, many LED lamps and some routers can run on USB-C or 12V. Skipping the AC inverter avoids the idle losses that AC power stations have (see our router and laptop guide). There are catches, though. Anker says it ships without a wall charger, so you’ll need a USB-C PD charger (30W or more; two 140W ports for full speed). Solar input must be 11–28V with an XT60 connector. Anker specifically says it isn’t compatible with its PS200 or PS400 panels. At the time of checking, Anker’s US store listed it as sold out, and the Amazon listing was still live.

Pros

  • Lightest and smallest here
  • No inverter idle drain for USB loads
  • 140W USB-C handles most laptops

Cons

  • No AC outlets: no fridge, no standard plugs
  • No wall charger included
  • Shorter warranty (36 months)

Check Anker SOLIX C300 DC on AmazonAffiliate link

Jackery Explorer 1000 v2: the quiet 1kWh pick

If your list includes the fridge, you need roughly 1kWh. Of the 1kWh-class units we compare, the Explorer 1000 v2 has the lowest listed weight (23.8 lb on Jackery’s page) and the quietest published fan rating (22 dB or less, per Jackery’s FAQ). It has three AC outlets sharing 1,500W, 3,000W peak, and two DC8020 solar inputs totaling 400W. Jackery lists standard AC charging at about 1.7 hours, plus an app-enabled emergency mode it advertises at about an hour.

There are two caveats. Jackery’s FAQ lists 18W of standby consumption, which adds up if you leave it on to power small loads. And the Amazon listing we checked shows a 1,024Wh, two-AC-outlet configuration, unlike Jackery’s FAQ. Check the version you’re buying.

Pros

  • Quietest published fan rating here
  • Lightest 1kWh-class unit compared
  • Enough for many fridges for a short outage

Cons

  • Heavy for stairs at about 24 lb
  • 18W standby draw listed by Jackery
  • Listing and FAQ specs differ

Check Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 on AmazonAffiliate link

Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2: most output per pound

The C1000 Gen 2 weighs a pound more than the Jackery (24.9 lb). In return it offers 2,000W rated output and up to 1,600W app-enabled AC charging, which Anker says gives a full charge in about 49 minutes when the cells are warm. That’s useful if your building has rolling or repeated outages and you want to refill quickly whenever power returns. It doesn’t take expansion batteries. The warranty is 5 years.

Check Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 on AmazonAffiliate link

Renter-specific things to check

  • Your lease and building rules. Some buildings restrict balcony solar panels or anything hanging over a railing. Ask before buying panels.
  • Where it will live. Measure the closet or shelf. Keep the station off the floor if your unit floods, and leave room for airflow.
  • Stairs. A 25 lb box is easy on a counter and harder on four flights in the dark. If you can’t comfortably carry it, buy smaller.
  • Recharge plan. In a multi-day outage, apartment dwellers usually recharge from a car’s 12V outlet, a friend’s place, or a small panel in a window. Check which of those inputs your station supports.
  • No fuel generators indoors or on balconies. Battery stations have no exhaust, which is the main reason they suit apartments.

The low-cost (or no-buy) alternative

You don’t need a power station for every outage. For short interruptions, which by EIA’s numbers make up most outage time outside major storms, a few cheap or free steps cover a lot:

  • Charged USB power banks for phones. Many households already have one or two. Keep them topped up.
  • Battery or rechargeable LED lanterns instead of candles, which are a fire risk.
  • Keep the fridge and freezer closed. USDA says an unopened fridge keeps food safe up to about 4 hours, and a full freezer about 48 hours.
  • Freeze water bottles now to fill empty freezer space. They help hold the temperature, and they become drinking water.
  • Download offline maps and documents while you still have Wi-Fi.
  • Know your utility’s outage map and sign up for its text alerts.

If those cover your needs, save your money. If you work from home or need the fridge running, a station starts to make sense.

Bottom line

For most renters who don’t need the fridge running, the EcoFlow RIVER 3 balances size, weight, AC outlets and automatic switchover well, on paper, as long as 300W of AC covers what you plug in. If all you power is USB and you want the smallest box, the Anker SOLIX C300 DC is the minimalist pick, but you’ll need your own charger. If the fridge is non-negotiable, step up to the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 for quiet operation or the Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 for output and recharge speed.

Sources